Remember Me?
Login Help >>

I'm 75 and from 'Village near Ashbourne' - Derby, Derbyshire, Midlands (UK)
I'm looking for a woman
I'm interested in: Friends, Romance or Long Term Relationship
[Last logged on : this week]
Eating out is more fun with two
I live alone. I'm separated from my wife because she has been in a nursing home for the last two years, in the advanced stages of Alzeimer's which was diagnosed eight years ago. For her last year at home she was in a bed downstairs. I visit her regularly but she no longer knows who I am. I have a son and a daughter and three grandchildren. (None of them live nearby.) I'm tall and slim with curly hair and blue eyes. I'm quite fit and I walk every day (unless it's raining!). I'm not very well travelled but I get to Spain and Italy every year and have several holidays all around the UK. I have a Master's Degree in Literature. I'm retired now but worked in education. I live in a large house in a village near Ashbourne in Derbyshire. I have a good group of friends locally and enjoy spending time with them and having meals together. I enjoy the theatre, cinema, exhibitions, galleries, live shows and National Trust properties - but haven't done much of any of those in the last few years. My main hobby is photography: I do serious stuff for national and international exhibitions. I enjoy a walk in the countryside with lunch in a nice village pub and I enjoy an evening meal in a decent restaurant - but neither of those is much fun alone. I also enjoy an evening in watching a film with a bottle of red wine. Many of the things I enjoy doing would be so much more enjoyable if I were able to share them with a lady who also enjoys them. My friends would probably say I'm easy going, relaxed, good company, great sense of humour, reliable, understanding and sympathetic (but only if I paid them well!).
Get in touch
Basic Info
Marital Status Separated
Has Children Yes - but not living with me
Would like children? No
Hair Color Grey
Height 6' 2'' (1.88m)
Religion Atheist
Smokes No
Dietary Preferences No Restrictions
Star Sign Sagittarius
Orientation Straight
Heritage White
Education Masters
Eye Colour Blue
Body Type Slim
Politics None Selected
Drinks Social drinker
Like Animals Yes
Began as teacher of English in secondary schools but moved (in stages) to Adult Education. Ran Adult Education Service for South Northamptonshire. Retired early 17 years ago.
Traditional boy's Grammar School, Teacher Training, Open University, Master's Degree in Literature.
I'm told I have some Scottish blood in me but it must go back several generations because I know my grandparents (on both sides) were white Caucasian.
I struggled with religion since my adolescence but eventually concluded that I am an atheist.
Subject to influence and change. I once voted Conservative because I was voting for the person rather than the party. Otherwise fluctuating between Labour and Lib. Dems.
Tall (6'2"), slim, curly hair (now salt & pepper), blue eyes. Look at my pictures.
Languages Spoken:
Italian, I'm saying Italian but it is barely good enough to get me by in a shop or restaurant !!
Musical Instruments played:
Oh, how I wish!!
Music Enjoyed:
Classical, Country, Folk, Jazz, Pop, Soft Rock, 60s music
Sports and exercise:
Swimming, In the distant days of my youth I was a pretty good swimmer and I played water polo but now it's just the occasional dip in the pool or the warm Mediterranean sea.
Interests and activities:
Concerts, Cooking, Countryside, Crosswords, Eating Out, Friends, Mountains, Photography, Pubs, Theatre, Walking
Animals and Pets:
None and I don't want any but my daughter has two big wonderful dogs and my son has one big wonderful dog.
Newspapers and magazines:
The Week
Charles Dickens, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Ian Rankin, Michael Ondaatje, Although I have a Master's degree in literature, I am embarrassed to say that I now read very little. Several of the authors named in the list I have never heard of, let alone read. I shouldn't be saying negative things like that I think!
Favourite Films:
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, The Godfather, Gone with the Wind, The Seven Samurai, Several of the options offered are films which I have never seen so I can't select them ... but I would be very happy to give them a try.
Enjoyable evening out:
Cinema, Restaurant, Theatre
Favourite Dishes:
Lemongrass and ginger marinated chicken, Smoked Salmon, Tomato + Mozarella salad
Ideal Holiday:
Driving slowly around Ireland, Lying on a beach in the Caribbean, Safari in Africa, I did the 'backpacking in the Himalayas' about 7 or 8 years ago: it was quite wonderful but I think I would struggle with all of that steep climbing now.
In another life:
Leonardo Da Vinci, Me again!, Neil Armstrong, a dolphin, a golden eagle, an author, a musician, a travel writer
Caring, Cheerful, Confident, Creative, Friendly, Generous, Humorous, Intellectual, Loving, Mad, Practical, Reliable, Romantic, Sensitive, Sensual, Sentimental, Serious, Sociable, Thoughtful, Tolerant
Get in touch 388889
Provenance: RATTLINGAROUND directly joined our original site - internet dating for thinking people