Remember Me?
Login Help >>

University lecturer in politics
I'm 65 and from 'Herts' - London, Hertfordshire, South East (UK)
I'm looking for a woman
I'm interested in: Romance or Long Term Relationship
[Last logged on : a long time ago]
Why not?
I'm a university lecturer in politics though I've taught a lot of sociology, international relations and history. I work from home and I'm pretty flexible, apart from lecturing commitments. I have a couple of part-time contracts and I'm hoping to find a third to replace one I've recently lost (tough times in academia).

I live in a small town 35 miles north of London. I have two sons in their 20s. I enjoy travel (recently I've visited Syria - before the uprising - and Iran).

I've published a couple of books and I'm seeking a contract for another. I have wide cultural and intellectual interests. I'm an active kind of man - I love swimming and the sun (always in danger of regressing to a beach bum) and I enjoy dancing (mainly modern jive). I'm enjoying learning to play a decent game of tennis. I'm a good cook and enjoy entertaining. I read a lot and follow politics.

You'll be fit, intelligent, a bit dressy, cultured, kind and fun - like me. Let's meet for a drink and chat, and see where that takes us.
Get in touch  
Basic Info
Marital Status Divorced
Has Children Yes - but not living with me
Would like children? No
Hair Color Grey
Height 5' 10'' (1.78m)
Religion None Selected
Smokes No
Dietary Preferences No Restrictions
Star Sign Aquarius
Orientation Straight
Heritage White
Education Masters
Eye Colour Brown
Body Type Athletic
Politics Left
Drinks Social drinker
Like Animals Not bothered
Once a Whitehall civil servant; now an academic.
First degree in history; master's in politics
Northerner - from Sunderland
Very interested - I must be, to teach a course on the sociology of religion - but, like Max Weber, I'm "religiously unmusical".
Interested but not engaged. I'm not partisan.
Always neatly turned out, sometimes aspiring to elegance.
Languages Spoken:
French, I have a reading knowledge of French but can't keep up in conversation
Musical Instruments played:
Sadly none.
Music Enjoyed:
opera, classical, country, 60's music, 70's music, dance music (that's where it's at today).
Sports and exercise:
Swimming and tennis (learning).
Interests and activities:
Cooking, Countryside, ...ceroc, ...nightclub, Eating Out, Health and Fitness, History, Reading, Theatre, Walking
Animals and Pets:
Newspapers and magazines:
The Financial Times, The Economist, Prospect.
Lots of classic novels as a young man - favourites were Mann, Dostoyevsky, Balzac. Favourite English novels are Middlemarch, The Way We Live Now, and Vanity Fair. Now I read novels mainly on holiday: Cormac McCarthy's The Road, Richard Yates' Revolutionary Road, Philip K Dick's The Man in the High Castle and Dumas' Marguerite de Valois (La Reine Margot).
Favourite Films:
Gone with the Wind, Seven Samurai, The Godfather, Taxi Driver, La Reine Margot, McCabe and Mrs Miller, Cross of Iron, The Wild Bunch.
Enjoyable evening out:
Art Gallery, Cinema, Meal, Pub, Theatre, Winebar
Favourite Dishes:
I like all kinds of Mediterranean food - French, Spanish, Italian, Greek, Turkish and Middle Eastern.
Ideal Holiday:
lying on a beach in the Caribbean, driving across the USA, skiing in the Alps. What appeals about Caribbean holiday is not so much the sunbathing (although I enjoy that) but particularly the swimming. I loved the Grenadines.
In another life:
Picasso - "he could walk down the street/ and girls could not resist his stare/Pablo Picasso/ never got called an asshole" (Jonathan Richman, "Pablo Picasso"). I'd have enjoyed being a Renaissance despot - subject of an encomium by Machiavelli.
Intellectual, Loving, Reliable, Sensual, Strong, Stylish
Get in touch 26266  
Provenance: Castorp directly joined our original site - internet dating for thinking people