Remember Me?
Login Help >>

retired university professor
I'm 75 and from Woking, Surrey, South East (UK)
I'm looking for a woman
I'm interested in: Friends, Romance or Long Term Relationship
[Last logged on : a long time ago]
Let's make a new beginning together
For me it is never too late for a new beginning, to do something for the first time, to learn another dance, to go somewhere different, or most importantly to meet someone new and hopefully begin an enduring and loving relationship.

The years rush past ever faster, but I am still tall, slim, athletic and active. Indeed, I feel younger, act younger, and, or so I am often told, look younger than my age. My main photo was taken in August 2016, the others in August 2015 and April 2016. I jog every day, and walk or cycle rather than drive a car whenever I can, even if a recent change of vehicle has tempted me to use the car more. I am also willing to try new things, such as joining U3A - I'm doing 'Art Appreciation' - and learning to jive, something I never seemed to learn during the 1960s. I am still no John Travolta, but it's great fun to dance to a rock 'n roll band, and jive to, say, Elvis's 'Return to Sender'. I am still doing swing jive, but recently I started ceroc jive, which is similar but different. That's very clear, isn't it? I did learn ballroom dancing in the past, but now need a refresher course (and a partner) to remember the steps.

My regular visits to watch plays, musicals and 1960s-1970s music shows would prove far more enjoyable if the experience was shared with someone like you. Also it would be great to share with you my visits to National Trust houses & gardens or to RHS Wisley, which is located near to where I live and where the changing seasons mean that every visit is different.

I enjoy public speaking, and still give occasional lectures and talks on my research interests. As a retired university professor, I continue to write and publish on a range of historical, literary and political topics, and have another book scheduled for publication in August 2016. For me, writing is less a task, but more fun and relaxation, even when a deadline looms. But rest assured (says he modestly) that I am no boring academic!

Looking after a large garden - or it seems like a large garden when everything, principally the weeds, starts growing - proves both a challenge and an enjoyable leisure activity.
Get in touch  
Basic Info
Marital Status Widowed
Has Children Yes - but not living with me
Would like children? No
Hair Color Grey
Height 6' 0'' (1.83m)
Religion Not Interested in Religion
Smokes No
Dietary Preferences No Restrictions
Star Sign Gemini
Orientation Straight
Heritage White
Education PhD
Eye Colour Hazel
Body Type Athletic
Politics Centre-Left
Drinks Social drinker
Like Animals Not bothered
I taught in higher education throughout my career, and became a Professor of History in 1992. I retired in 2008 but have remained active as a researcher and publisher of articles, books, reviews &etc.
I have a first degree in Economics and International History and a Ph.D on British foreign policy and international peacekeeping. Also I have a PGCE.
British. Despite being born in the Midlands, I have lived always in the South of England, principally Surrey and Sussex.
Although I am interested in politics and follow events closely, I do not see myself as very political. I tend to hover across the political centre, inclining to both the left and right, principally because no current political party fully represents my political thinking.
I'm too modest to make any meaningful comment on this, and prefer to leave it to the photos. Hopefully, people are right - and not visually challenged - when they say I look younger than my age.
Languages Spoken:
French, German, When i was at school we were taught to read and write a language rather than to speak it.
Musical Instruments played:
Afraid not.
Music Enjoyed:
Classical, Country, Pop, Soft Rock, 50s music, 60s music, 70s music, I am making a real effort to get to know classical music better, and tend to have my car radio tuned to Classics FM.
Sports and exercise:
Badminton, Cycling, Jogging, Tennis, I do very little sport now, but played hockey seriously for over 30 years.
Interests and activities:
Art, Concerts, Countryside, ...ceroc, Gardening, History, Reading, Theatre, Walking, Writing
Animals and Pets:
Newspapers and magazines:
Financial Times, Guardian, Telegraph, The Times
Bill Bryson, James Patterson, John Grisham, Not many of my favourite authors (eg. Michael Connelly, Peter James) for holiday reading here.
Favourite Films:
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Carry on Nurse, Jean de Florette, Love Story, Some Like It Hot
Enjoyable evening out:
Restaurant, Pub, Musical, Live Music, Theatre
Favourite Dishes:
Fish and Chips, Lasagne, Mediterranean vegetables and Ricotta wrapped in Filo, Roast Beef and Yorkshire pudding, Steak and chips, Veal Escalope
Ideal Holiday:
One or two of these appeal but have been there and done that. I would like to visit Australia and New Zealand again - despite 5 visits there, i still have lots of places to see and to see again.
In another life:
I have never really wanted to be anyone else. However, looking back I would have liked to move around some of the phases of my life so that, say, when my children were young we could have been much better off than we were at the time.
Affectionate, Ambitious, Caring, Cautious, Confident, Considerate, Friendly, Generous, Humorous, Intellectual, Loving, Modest, Optimistic, Positive, Predictable, Proactive, Reliable, Romantic, Serious, Shy, Sociable, Thoughtful
Get in touch 370216  
Provenance: Pjayb directly joined our original site - internet dating for thinking people