Remember Me?
Login Help >>

film-maker and teacher
I'm 60 and from 'Southwark' - London
I'm looking for a woman
I'm interested in: Friends, Social Networking, Romance, Short Term Relationship or Long Term Relationship
[Last logged on : a long time ago]
Creative, caring and craving your indulgence
I am a creative, caring man, and have strived in most of my life and work to combine these qualities. I have spent most of my life in the caring professions as a youth and community worker and an active trades unionist. For the last few years I have specialised in making films and teaching video production with youth and community groups.

I have had a lifelong interest in films and also in singing. I have attended singing classes and have had solo tuition for many years, performing occasionally but still building up to my first big gig! I have a love of the performing arts generally and am a regular film and theatre-goer. I tend to like the heavier stuff (e.g. foriegn language films, anything from Scorsese, Harold Pinter) but also love comedy (Woody Allen, Marx Bros, Ricky Gervais, Simpsons, Family Guy etc etc.). I even did a stand-up comedy course and performed a gig to paying customers at the end! I am quite comfortable with the pub/club culture, and most of my arty outings with friends tend to end up with a review in the pub of whatever we've just seen. Oh and I like sports as well -football, tennis etc - and am determined to watch less and do more!

I am pretty left-wing and my closest friends and partners have tended to share my values, which are generally based on the principle that everyone is basically equal and so is deserving of the same treatment, rights and resources to make their quality of life as good as anyone else. I try to carry these values into my personal life and most people would say I am attentive, considerate, a good listener and pretty good with advice and support.

I would be keen in the long-term to have a close, stable relationship (possibly even children though I don't want to be an ancient dad) but having more close friends would also suit me fine for now.
Get in touch  
Basic Info
Marital Status Single
Has Children No
Would like children? Not sure
Hair Color Hair! - What hair!
Height 5' 10'' (1.78m)
Religion Atheist
Smokes No
Dietary Preferences No Restrictions
Star Sign Pisces
Orientation Straight
Heritage Mixed/Multiple ethnic groups
Education Prof Quals
Eye Colour Brown
Body Type Muscular
Politics Left
Drinks Social drinker
Like Animals Yes
I have spent over 25 years as a youth and community worker and for the last six years have specialised in making films with and teaching video production to youth and community groups
I have a first-class honours degree in Humanities, majoring in politics. I have professional qualifications in community work, teaching adults and video production
My mother was English and my father is Greek-Cypriot
I have an interest in different types of religious philosophies. Probably the one I am closest to is Taoism which sees the connectedness of everything without necessarily assigning a divine purpose to it all.
I was actively involved in trades unions for many years and still take an active interest in political issues such as campaigns against privatisation. I have an international perspective and so am against globalisation and imperialism.
Muscular,athletic (in good shape for my age!), dark and Mediterranean (from my dad's side).
Languages Spoken:
Got an 'A' grade for 'O' level French - can still remember enough to get by.
Musical Instruments played:
Have been strumming away at my guitar for years on and off, trying to learn accompaniments to songs I have written myself. Am approaching performance standard but approaching it very slowly!
Music Enjoyed:
My musical taste is quite wide-ranging, from classical and opera through to Frank Sinatra to rock 'n' roll to Ska to modern pop. Since going to Morley College for singing lessons I have got into classical and opera more. I love the old musicals (eg Carousel) and am a big rock 'n' roll fan (esp Elvis and Little Richard). I love going to swing/jive/big band nights at the 100 Club
Sports and exercise:
Badminton, Darts, Football, Pilates, Pool, T'ai Chi, Table Tennis, Tennis
Interests and activities:
Art, Concerts, Cooking, Eating Out, Friends, Health and Fitness, History, Politics, Pubs, Singing, Theatre, TV, Yoga. I love the arts and regularly go to galleries, cinemas, theatres and concerts.
Animals and Pets:
No pets - always wanted a dog as a kid but sort of grew out of it. Would be fine with someone who has one though!
Newspapers and magazines:
Big Issue, Guardian, Independent, The Mirror, Time Out
Reading not my strong point. Most books I have read and enjoyed have been either on self-development (e.g. Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway)or autobiographies (e.g. Spike Milligan, Lenny Bruce, Tony Hancock, Billy Connolly - yes they are all comedians!)
Favourite Films:
Cinema Paradiso, Citizen Kane, The Godfather, Jean de Florette, Manhattan, Taxi Driver, 2001
Enjoyable evening out:
Art Gallery, Cinema, Pub, Musical, Theatre
Favourite Dishes:
A Chinese banquet, Lemongrass and ginger marinated chicken, Mediterranean vegetables and Ricotta wrapped in Filo, Smoked Salmon, Spaghetti alle Vongole
Ideal Holiday:
Driving across the US, Driving slowly around Ireland, Learning to paint in Provence
In another life:
Dalai Lama, Einstein, Elvis, Leonardo Da Vinci, Mozart, Picasso
Aware, Caring, Courageous, Considerate, Creative, Different, Friendly, Humorous, Imaginative, Intellectual, Loving, Proactive, Reliable, Romantic, Sensitive, Serious, Thoughtful, Tolerant
Get in touch 160453  
Provenance: Nickmarios directly joined our original site - internet dating for thinking people