Remember Me?
Login Help >>
 
           
 

MellowHelen  
Yoga teacher / Homemaker
I'm 59 and from 'St Ives' - Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, East (UK)
I'm looking for a man
I'm interested in: Romance, Short Term Relationship or Long Term Relationship
[Last logged on : quite some time ago]
Warm and caring woman seeks lovely man
I am gentle, friendly and quietly outgoing, lively in my own way. I am hoping to meet someone sociable and affectionate with a zest for life and still curious about the world.

I hope you love music, including live gigs. I love dancing, especially salsa which I've done for some years now. It would make me happy to have my man on the dancefloor with me, even if he is not very good.

Other things I like doing include yoga, reading and spending time with family and friends. I go out regularly (with or without the children), enjoy local events round the calendar, and go for picnics and walks. I also enjoy staying in, some telly, and informal cups of tea or meals with friends.

This all makes me sound very domestic, but I also have an intrepid side and an interest in people and cultures from all over the world. I think for myself but the nearest pigeonhole would probably be 'a bit of a hippy'.

I'm often enthusiastic, passionate and affectionate. I'm getting a bit better about not being late quite so often! I respect friendships and give space, and hope for the same. On the other hand, I would like a close relationship with lots of warmth and intimacy.
Get in touch  
 
 
Basic Info
Marital Status Single
Has Children Yes
Would like children? None Selected
Hair Color Dark Brown
Height 5' 6'' (1.67m)
Religion Agnostic
Smokes No
Dietary Preferences No Restrictions
Star Sign Cancer
Orientation Straight
Heritage White
Education Undergraduate Degree
Eye Colour Brown
Body Type Slim
Politics Centre-Left
Drinks Social drinker
Like Animals Yes
   
Occupation:
I'm a yoga teacher with several classes in the local area. I'm also a housewife, disliking housework but seeing it as important. My house is welcoming and clean, though not necessarily all that tidy! In the past I worked for an exam board and taught English as a Foreign Language, among other things, including lots of admin.
Education:
I did a Linguistics degree, and studied French, Philosophy and Psychology as subsidiary subjects (in Wales). Though my field is the humanities/arts side, I took science to 'O' level and remain curious about how things work or were made.
Heritage:
English, grew up near Cambridge in East Anglia.
Religion:
I would describe myself as spiritual but don't care to define it too closely. Anglican by culture, non-practicing, but I do live by some of its ethics. I have practiced yoga for many years and have an appreciation of some hindu values.
Politics:
I take an interest in current affairs & enjoy hearing opinions from those around me and Radio 4, and discussion generally.
Appearance:
Slim with long brown wavy hair and hazel brown eyes. I go for a natural look but scrub up quite well for salsa or a Saturday night.
Languages Spoken:
French (first year degree), German (basic). I speak a few phrases of other European languages and Amharic.
Musical Instruments played:
Sang in choirs through school to a good standard. Have taken singing lessons on and off. For the last couple of years I've been in a community choir of drummers and singers, with chants and songs from around the world, performing locally a few times a year.
Music Enjoyed:
Music is important to me and includes 60's to present day, heavy & progressive rock, pop, punk reggae & ska, world music (esp african), some jazz (esp fusion), soul, later on funk, hip hop & even later some of today's music my kids introduce me to. Also some choral & classical (as lots around me in childhood) & some folk.
Sports and exercise:
Currently I do salsa and yoga, which keep me fit, strong and supple. In my 20s and 30s cycling was my main form of transport, and I try to keep it going a bit in the summer. I'm not very sporty but will have an occasional go at most things.
Interests and activities:
Allotment (shared), art, camping, countryside, dancing (mainly salsa or disco), festivals (occasionally; I like my sleep!), friends, knitting, live music, making cakes, meditation, pubs, reading, theatre, travel, TV, walking, yoga.
Animals and Pets:
I have no strong feelings either way.
Newspapers and magazines:
If I'm travelling I treat myself to "Prospect" magazine, though my weekly fodder is Radio Times and Big Issue. Occasionally I pick up someone else's The Guardian or The Independent and enjoy picking through it.
Books:
Most recently read: "The Light Between Oceans" by ML Steadman, "Enchantment, Life of Audrey Hepburn" by Donald Spoto and "Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Café" by Fannie Flagg. I like sharing the following books: "Passages", Gail Sheehy, "Woman on the Edge of Time", Marge Piercy. Other authors include Paul Gallico & Doris Lessing.
Favourite Films:
I'm not a film buff and I'm quite happy to pick something off the telly. But some films I like: Avatar, Bend it Like Beckham, East is East, Good Will Hunting, Gosford Park, The Holiday, The Interpreter, It's Complicated, Mamma Mia, Red, Straight Outta Compton, The Wind Rises (Mizayaki), Up
Enjoyable evening out:
Live music, sometimes with food, a nice pub or bar, a film, maybe a salsa evening or boogie night, or a just an evening walk or a chat over a cup of coffee. It really depends on the friend, and what they like, too.
Favourite Dishes:
Well, it really depends on the mood, the occasion and the company! It might be safe nutritious fish, chips and peas, warming pasta in a creamy sauce, or light and interesting fishy something. On the other hand it could be good spicy african food, thai, some intriguing flavour combination, or something challenging but yummy sounding.
Ideal Holiday:
I like staying with a friend/friends, or having people to stay. Every now and then I like an adventure abroad, doing tourist things but also meeting and getting to know local people. If I won a holiday, Ethiopia/Eritrea to see Lalibela this time, Mexico, France again, somewhere to see an eclipse, somewhere to see the northern lights. I would love to meet someone to travel with more regularly.
In another life:
Would have been great to do research in linguistics, or been a speech therapist. In my wildest dreams, maybe a dancer, international charity worker, forester, or just a wise counsellor. I'm surprised my life didn't pan out this way: married for around thirty years, with three or four children in early adulthood, to a probably flawed and annoying but considerate, engaging & wonderful man.
Personality:
My friends describe me as open, warm & affectionate. They also say I'm a bit disorganised, but more together than I appear at first. Good listener who can always offer a detached perspective on things, with a relaxed, informal manner. Quite well spoken and polite, but also quite direct. Optimistic and happy by nature. My playful inner child is alive and kicking, but is usually well hidden.
Get in touch 181437  
 
 
Provenance: MellowHelen directly joined our original site Loveandfriends.com - internet dating for thinking people