Remember Me?
Login Help >>
 
           
 

GinaT  
Self-employed
I'm 71 and from Exeter, Dorset, South West (UK)
I'm looking for a man
I'm interested in: Friends, Romance or Long Term Relationship
[Last logged on : quite some time ago]
He who dares...!
Described as bright and interesting, loyal, funny and kind - though sometimes rather too generous for my own good! I take a great interest in people, having spent many years in executive search, and I much enjoy good conversation. I am part of an extremely lively current affairs group and other interests include walking, sailing, photography, galleries and museums, theatre, concerts, reading (mainly non-fiction and history) my garden and amateur bird-watching. I love cooking and sharing meals and recipes with friends.
Other things I like? Mountains, flowing water, clouds, firelight, crumble, the darkest chocolate and - a project or challenge!
My family come top of the list and we are close. My son lives in Austria and my daughter in London, and I visit them often, welcomed fondly and noisily by my 2 small granddaughters. My 2 brothers and their large families are also supportive and fun.
I've written a book (just the one) with the proceeds going to a small Nepalese school and I’ve lived in several countries. I really enjoy travelling as well as exploring my local area and our wonderfully varied country. I am equally happy whether staying in a decent hotel, a B&B, aboard a boat or even in a beach hut. I also love the transformation from walking boots or sailing gear to evening glamour - given a little time. I also enjoy the planning and actual business of travelling - bar delays. Let's pore over a map and plot an adventure - you'll find me good company!
Get in touch
 
 
Basic Info
Birthday Alert(Sometime in the next 7 days - Why not Send an eCard?)

Marital Status Divorced
Has Children Yes - but not living with me
Would like children? No
Hair Color Light Brown
Height 5' 5'' (1.65m)
Religion Christian (Anglican)
Smokes No
Dietary Preferences No Restrictions
Star Sign Sagittarius
Orientation Straight
Heritage White
Education Other
Eye Colour Green
Body Type Slim
Politics Centre
Drinks Social drinker
Like Animals Yes
   
Occupation:
Customer relations in a coal merchant (don't ask), PA, then accompanying ex-husband abroad (sometimes working locally). I then began a career in board-level executive search (aka headhunting). Lots of stories to tell.
Education:
Educated before the enthusiasm and encouragement for University was recognised. However I have just about caught up and I'm proud of the three R's which help at scrabble.
Heritage:
I come from a family with a strong medical background (in Buckinghamshire) though none of my close family chose this path. My daughter and family live and work in London, my son and his family in Austria and I have 2 small, affectionate and spirited granddaughters. The whole family love travel and have almost all lived abroad at some time.
Religion:
I am an occasional churchgoer and do believe a higher entity can offer comfort and guidance in this uncertain world.
Politics:
Very undecided in the current maelstrom! Issues outweigh any loyalty.
Appearance:
Slim with brown hair and just as happy in jeans or sailing gear as in pretty evening rig. I also love jewellery - just fun and interesting bits collected on my travels. Nothing startling to warn you about when you meet me, however, smiles and gentle teasing to the fore.
Languages Spoken:
German, My German is of the friendly variety for shopping, offering directions and pointing out the local hostelry/bakery! Much gesticulation accompanies this.
Musical Instruments played:
Piano in the distant past There's still time
Music Enjoyed:
Choral, Classical, Contemporary Classical, Country, Folk, Gaelic, Jazz, Pop, World Music, 60s music, I sang in a shanty choir for a while which was terrific fun and gave you licence to be a free and crazy spirit when the chorus came along
Sports and exercise:
Pilates in the past, sailing when I can, sea swimming when it's really, really hot, keep fit spasmodically
Interests and activities:
Art, Concerts, Cooking, Countryside, Eating Out, Friends, Gardening, Hiking, History, Mountains, Photography, Politics, Reading, Theatre, Travel, Walking, Writing and visiting NT properties and beautiful gardens
Animals and Pets:
At present one tame robin in the garden and 3 generations of noisy house sparrows! Seagulls try unsuccessfully to ingratiate themselves.
Newspapers and magazines:
Monocle, National Geographic, The Week, Telegraph, The Times, Observer, Country Life and of course The Oldie.
Books:
Dervla Murphy, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, John Grisham, Sebastian Faulks Armistead Maupin, Bruce Chatwin, John Le Carré, Lynda La Plante, I have also read the complete set of Patrick O'Brien's naval historical fiction books which are terrific.
Favourite Films:
Casablanca, Cinema Paradiso, The Godfather, Gone with the Wind, Kind Hearts and Coronets, Maltese Falcon, Some Like It Hot, Babe, Rear Window....so many more.
Enjoyable evening out:
Art Gallery, Restaurant, Pub or theatre, and a walk afterwards
Favourite Dishes:
A Chinese banquet, Lemongrass and ginger marinated chicken, Lobster Thermidor (if being treated!), Roast Beef and Yorkshire pudding, Smoked Salmon, Steak and chips very occasionally
Ideal Holiday:
Backpacking in the Himalayas, Driving slowly around Ireland, Safari in Africa, train across India, Russia or Europe
In another life:
Audrey Hepburn, Marie Curie, an artist, an explorer, a travel writer, an Arctic Tern
Personality:
Affectionate, Adventurous, Caring, Cheerful, Confident, Courageous, Considerate, Creative, Friendly, Generous, Gregarious, Loving, Optimistic, Positive, Proactive, Reliable, Sociable, Thoughtful
Get in touch OL378814